Mission / Purpose

The Louisville Genealogical Society was founded in 1985; membership is open to anyone interested in genealogy, or the history of Louisville, Jefferson County, and surrounding areas.  It was organized in 1985 as a nonprofit educational society, for the purpose of preserving, evaluating and sharing local records.  Click for a brief History of the early years of the society.
Click Here for "What We Do" Video
Click Here for "Our Founder's Story" Video


The Louisville Genealogical Society membership approved revisions to the by-laws of the Society at the meeting held October 23, 2012.  Click to review the amended ByLaws.

Joining LGS is easy
Click for information

Operating Year: January - December 2021

President: John Retelle, Jr.
Vice President: Jeanne Luhr
Recording Secretary: Donna Broster
Corresponding Secretary: Yvette Norsworthy
Membership Registrar: Amelia Debusman
Treasurer: Maureen Fitzgerald
Past President: Nancy Simmons Roberson
Genealogical Advisor: Deborah Lord Campisano
Genealogical Advisor: Nancy Simmons Roberson
Genealogical Advisor: Jane Turner Hamm
Standing Committees
Celebration: Lynn Grossman
Celebration: Connie Fry
Celebration: Alberta Baker
Historian: Trish Aaron
Librarian: Jane Seelig
Asst Librarian: Philip Hysell
Mailing Labels: Howard Roberson
Marketing Chairperson: Janet Davis
Member Attendance: Doris Wyzard
Newsletter Editor: Penny Weller
Quarterly Journal Editor: Stephanie Longmire Clayton
Postal: John Retelle, Jr.
Programs: Betty Graham
Programs: Betty Darnell
Programs: Lynn Grossman
Programs: Anne Rockwell
Programs: Mel Arnold
Publications: Carolyn Rainey
Seminar Co-Chairperson: Carol Baldwin
Seminar Co-Chairperson: Vacant
Seminar Asst Chairperson: John Stengel
Seminar Advisor: Amy Wisotsky
Seminar Vendors: Terry Chambers
Seminar Silent Auction: Linda Kiekhefer
Sergeant-at-Arms: Jack Koppel
Technical Advisor: Philip Hysell
Technical Advisor: Howard Roberson
Zoom Manager: Jack Koppel
Technical Advisor: Bill Snyder
Travel Spring Trip: Susan Olson Snyder
Travel Fall Trip: Susan Olson Snyder
Travel 5th Tuesdays: Debra Renard
Webmaster: Howard Roberson
Welcome Chairperson: Carolyn Rainey
Workshops: Connie Fry
Workshop Asst.: Nancy Simmons Roberson
Zoom Master: Jack Koppel
Special Committees
Audit: Alberta Baker
Audit: Joanne Howard
Audit: Bill Snyder
LDS Telephone Contact: Nancy LeCron
Information: Philip Hysell